top of page
  • Writer's pictureDrifter Ghost

Gerber Suspension


Overall Length: 6"

Closed Length: 3.5"

Weight: 9oz

Lightweight, open frame design is ideal for everyday tasks

Convenient, easily accessible butterfly opening

Saf.T.Plus locking knife and tools

Ballistic nylon sheath included




Gerber Suspension is a pleasant surprise. I stumbled across this tool in a random Walmart one evening. I can not count how many multi-tools I have used over the years. I have owned cheap five dollar tools, that kids get their fathers for random holidays.Then I have used fairly expensive Gerber tools. The problem I found. Is that if it was cheap, it broke. If it was too expensive, it grew legs and walked away.



Now here I was. Stuck with a few options, in the magic display case. Which of course was locked behind a wall of plexiglass. I had not per-say started my adventure to Walmart. With the goal of buying a new multi-tool. Yet some of us know the dangers of heading over to the sporting goods aisle. While the wife and kids go and shop around.


The two things that stood out for me. Was the price, and the fact it came with the pouch for my belt.While the price I will contend is pretty damn good for what you get.The pouch that came with it is a piece of crap. The velcro did not last three days of moderate use. As well the stitching is a joke. To be honest, Gerber should be ashamed to put their name on such a worthless piece of junk.


Now the tool itself. That is a whole different story. I have used it fairly hard for over three years now. I carry it pretty much daily. The pliers have helped me fix an untold number of loose bolts. To pulling nails out of trailer floors. The saw is a bit surprising. For a tool under fifty bucks, it is quite impressive and rather sharp. Both blades the straight edge and the serrated edge. Have thumb stud for easy opening. Then the Saf.T.Plus locking mechanism. Keeps the tools or knives from slipping closed while in use. The scissors are a bit lackluster, but par for the course for multi-tools.The spring slips but they are usable. They also remain reminds fairly sharp even after I find I use them to trim my fingernails on the fly. The Phillips head driver has been quite a surprise. The narrow/wide face and the sharp tip.Has actually proven to work on a number of random screws.




Overall if I were to compare it to the high-end Gerbers and Leathermen out there. Id probably gives it a 6 out of 10. For the price point under $30, I would give it an 8 out of 10. The only thing keeping it from a 9 1/2 is the crappy pouch.


To add my workaround for the crappy pouch.I

picked up a Bianchi Accumold 7303 Black Single Magazine Pouch (Size 2 Staggered Hidden Snap). This has been a workhorse. That I have put an absurd amount of stress on. Yet it works as if its brand new. The snap buttons have remained crisp and secure with no signs of wear in 3 years.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page